Architecture and Art
  Historical paintings    Marble busts
 

F. Bürklein - Architect of the Maximilianeum

The official function of the Maximilianeum

The first plans for the Maximilianstrasse were created in 1851 by the architect Friedrich Bürklein (1813-1872), as part of a project for ‘beautifying Munich.’ He planned the boulevard as a center of urban commerce, which would serve to connect the city with the Isar and the Haidhausen district planned for across the river. The street, the center, and the bridge were to culminate in a picturesque crowning object, an acropolis above the Isar – what became the Maximilianeum.

 
  View from the Steinerne Saal on Maximilianstrasse
The facade of the Maximilianeum
Architecture: the Maximimilian style

Max II wanted his new street to have a unified appearance and prescribed the so-called ‘Maximilianstil’ to his architects: pointed arcades and verticality from the Anglo-Saxon Neo-Gothic style were the basis on which the best elements of all historical epochs of art would be unified with modern building techniques. The Maximilianeum, as the last building built, is at once the completion and decadent phase of the style: just before his death, the king ordered that rounded arches be added to the façade, which was already under construction.

  Art in the Maximilianeum
 

At the beginning (>> The charter) the Foundation consisted of 30 oil paintings and 24 marble busts, in addition to the building, its furnishings, and the monetary capital. The money was lost to inflation in the 1920s and only 17 of the 30 paintings survived the Second World War.

The paintings of the ‘historical gallery’ were created from 1852 under the direction of Leo von Klenze (1784-1864) and depict important moments of world history. The sculptors Peter Schöpf (1804-1875) and Johann Halbig (1814-1882) complement them with their busts in Carrara marble, representing benefactors, discoverers, wise men, men of letters, politicians, and generals. Paintings on the façade of the Maximilianeum and the inner rooms add to the artistic scheme.

The leading thought in the artistic program is twofold: beauty and truth. The time’s ideal of Bildung stands behind the program. Art does not exist for its own sake, but also for the development of the people – and therefore must depict history, the ‘educator of humanity.’

 
top The 17 historical paintings
 
top Marble busts

4 of the 24 marble busts (f. l. t. r.: Prince Eugene of Savoy, Gustavus Adolphus, Turenne, Alexander the Great)

 
 
 
 
 
  10. Prince Eugene of Savoy (*1663, †1736)
The Austrian General won fame for his victories in the Great Turkish War. As an imperial advisor, he proved his political acumen.
  11. Vincent de Paul (*1581, †1660)
Spent most of his life in Paris, where he dedicated himself to the care of the poor. Numerous charitable institutions are traced back to him.
  12. Confucius (*c. 551, †479 BCE)
Although the philosopher was unable to carry out societal reforms in his lifetime, his moral and political philosophy is influential on Chinese culture and far beyond to this day.
  12 further busts stand as permanent loans in the rooms of the Parliament.

Architektur und Kunst
  Historische Galerie    Marmorbüsten
 

F. Bürklein - der Architekt des Maximilianeums

Die städtebauliche Funktion des Maximilianeums

Die ersten Pläne zur heutigen Maximilianstraße wurden 1851 von dem Architekten Friedrich Bürklein (1813-1872) vorgelegt. Im Zuge der "Verschönerung Münchens" sollte ein Boulevard und ein Zentrum urbaner Kommunikation geschaffen werden, die zugleich als eine Verbindung der Stadt mit der Isar und dem jenseits des Flusses gelegenen Haidhausen gedacht waren. Straße, Forum und Brücke sollten in einem malerischen Schlussobjekt, einer Akropole, auf der Isarhöhe kulminieren - dem späteren Maximilianeum.

 
  Blick vom Steinernen Saal auf die Maximilianstraße
Die Fassade des Maximilianeums
Die Architektur - "Maximilianstil"

Max II. beabsichtigte, seiner neuen Prachtstraße ein einheitliches Aussehen zu geben, und schrieb seinen Architekten den heute nach ihm benannten Maximilianstil vor: Spitzbogige Arkaden und vorherrschende Vertikalität aus der angelsächsischen Neugotik waren die Basis, auf der die besten Elemente aller historischen Kunstepochen mit moderner Bautechnik vereint werden sollten. Das Maximilianeum ist als letztes Gebäude zugleich die Vollendung und der Niedergang dieses Stils: Kurz vor seinem Tode ordnete der König trotz bereits laufender Bauarbeiten an, die Fassade mit Rundbögen zu versehen.

 

  Kunst im Maximilianeum
 

Zu Beginn (>> Gründungsurkunde) bestand die Stiftung neben dem Gebäude, seiner Einrichtung und dem Geldkapital aus 30 Ölgemälden und 24 Marmorbüsten. Das Geld wurde vollständig von der Inflation der 1920er Jahre aufgezehrt und nur 17 der 30 Bilder überstanden den 2. Weltkrieg.

Die Gemälde der "Historischen Galerie" entstanden ab 1852 unter der Leitung von Leo von Klenze (1784-1864) und zeigen die Hauptmomente der Weltgeschichte. Die Bildhauer Peter Schöpf (1804-1875) und Johann Halbig (1814-1882) stellen diesen mit ihren Büsten aus Carrara-Marmor die plastische Veranschaulichung von Wohltätern, Erfindern, Weisen, Literaten, Staatsmännern und Feldherren an die Seite. Ergänzt wird der künstlerische Entwurf durch Bilder an der Fassade des Maximilianeums und in den Innenräumen.

Der leitende Gedanke dieses Kunstprogramms ist ein zweifacher: Schönheit und Wahrheit. Dahinter steht das Bildungsideal der damaligen Zeit: Kunst dient nicht allein der "Ausbildung der Kunst", sondern auch der "Bildung des Volkes". Diese vermittelt die Geschichte - die "Erzieherin des Menschengeschlechts".

 
top Die Historische Galerie (17 Historiengemälde)
 
top Die 24 Marmorbüsten

4 der 24 Marmorbüsten (v. l. n. r.: Prinz Eugen v. Savoyen, Gustav Adolf, Turenne, Alexander d. Große)

 
 
 
 
 
  10. Prinz Eugen v. Savoyen (*1663, †1736)
Der österreichische Feldherr erlangte insbesondere durch seine Siege im Türkenkrieg Berühmtheit. Als kaiserlicher Ratgeber bewies er politischen Scharfblick.
  11. Vinzenz v. Paul (*1581, †1660)
verbrachte den Großteil seines Lebens in Paris, wo er sich der Armenseelsorge widmete. Zahlreiche karitative Einrichtungen gehen auf ihn zurück.
  12. Konfuzius (*um 551, †479 v.Chr.)
Auch wenn es dem Philosophen zu Lebzeiten nicht gelang, gesellschaftliche Veränderungen herbeizuführen, beeinflusst seine Moral- und Staatsphilosophie nicht nur den chinesischen Kulturkreis bis heute.
  12 weitere Büsten stehen als Dauerleihgabe in den Räumlichkeiten des Landtages.